Thinking about it, but I'm really glad I found this website

If you are thinking about having Lasik, IntraLasik, PRK, LASEK, Epi-Lasik, RLE, or P-IOL eye surgery, this is the forum to research your concerns or ask your questions.

Thinking about it, but I'm really glad I found this website

Postby Humboldtfisher » Wed Mar 25, 2009 3:57 pm

Hi there:

I just found this website a couple of days ago and signed-up yesterday. I'm 46 years old and have worn glasses every day of my life since 4th grade. I had an eye exam in January and decided to consider corrective surgery. I work as a fisheries biologist and also do a lot of boating, snorkeling and scuba diving.........and glasses have always been bothersome for a lot of these activities.

Up until finding this site, I was 100% sure I was going to go through with corrective surgery, now I'm not so sure. During the past month I've tested the mono-vision option with contacts and had overall a pretty good adjustment, except the contacts never fully addressed my astigmatism (I tried 4 different types since they slipped out of place alot because they were weighted to address my astigmatism). I also had a wavefront image done with my eye test in January and I do have some high-level aberrations (more on this later).

Where I live, I would be using my local Dr. for pre and post op exams and going 4 hours south for the procedure. I've been seeing my local Dr. for close to 20 years and overall have been pleased, but am now getting the feeling that doing lasik is sort of being pushed. I'm scheduled for my pre-op exam next week and a surgery date has already been set. What if the exam shows I'm not a good candidate?

Here's the numbers from my wavefront, and then a few questions.....

Sphere: right eye -4.00 left -3.75
Cylinder: right -2.50 left -2.12
Axis: right 12deg left 155 deg
pupil dia: right 5.0mm left 5.5 mm

Total high order: right = 0.28D left = 0.27 D (these are in red for high)