Prescription Variance - WaveScan vs. Traditional Refraction

If you are thinking about having Lasik, IntraLasik, PRK, LASEK, Epi-Lasik, RLE, or P-IOL eye surgery, this is the forum to research your concerns or ask your questions.

Prescription Variance - WaveScan vs. Traditional Refraction

Postby tennfoureyes » Mon Mar 07, 2011 5:34 am

This site is great! A great resource for those of us moving toward Lasik.

I am a 48 year old male who has been wearing glasses and/or contacts since the age of 12. My prescription has been stable for the past several years (except my up-close reading) and I have been wearing progressive bifocals for the past two years. I am scheduled to have Lasik surgery in 6 weeks. This past week I had my pre-Lasik evaluation exam with my Ophthalmologist to ensure I can have the surgery. She said I was a good candidate. My nearsightedness will be corrected and I will be using "readers" after surgery for my up close vision. I am comfortable with this trade-off.

My prescription using the "traditional" refraction method (phoropter "is one better than two") showed a Sphere of -3.00 OD and -3.50 OS. I have a +1.75 in both for reading in my progressive lenses. The WaveScan readings showed a prescription of -2.61 OD and -3.00 OS. She said she is going to use the WaveScan numbers for the surgery. My question is this: this refraction variance, to me, is off from what I have been used to in my glasses - is she undercorrecting? Will I not see as well? Or, is this within professional guidelines and maybe I won't really notice a .50 diopter difference after the surgery??? Maybe I am worrying for nothing. Any insight would be appreciated.
tennfoureyes

Re: Prescription Variance - WaveScan vs. Traditional Refraction

Postby LasikExpert » Tue Mar 08, 2011 8:27 pm

Thank you for the kind words about our website.