My Experience with All Laser Lasik

Research your concerns in this forum or post your questions if you have had Lasik, IntraLasik, PRK, LASEK, Epi-Lasik, RLE, or P-IOL within the past three months.

My Experience with All Laser Lasik

Postby EMS_Pilot » Mon Oct 08, 2007 5:43 am

I just had Intralase Lasik with a very reputable Laser Vision center in Greensboro NC (the chain who did Tiger) - The Doctor and staff were amazing and I chose this particular doctor after doing months of research and deciding against three surgeons from the NYC area (the area I Live in)

The decision to have lasik done was not something that weighed lightly with me. I'm a Medevac helicopter pilot and rely on my vision for my career. Prior to having the procedure done, I was 20/15 corrected with contacts with a prescription of -2.75 or so per eye with very mild astigmatism (.5) in the left eye.

I visited 3 different doctors in NYC. After a LOT of research, I decided the best combination appeared to be the Allegretto Wavelight and the Intralase Femto laser for the creation of the flap. I thought the latest technology Microkeratome would likely yield similar results, however, I wanted the best chance of success. My studies also found that it appeared the Wavelight Allegretto created the smoothest surface, the best chance for great night vision, and the best uncorrected visual acuity. Since i didn't have any High Order aberrations (according to the topography scan), it appeared custom lasik wouldn't do much of anything for me.