help lasek 7 days ago

Research your concerns in this forum or post your questions if you have had Lasik, IntraLasik, PRK, LASEK, Epi-Lasik, RLE, or P-IOL within the past three months.

help lasek 7 days ago

Postby jturner29 » Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:02 pm

i had lasek last thursday, i keep waiting to wake up every day and be able to see, i was -5.75 and -5.50, my quality of vision is not good, i cannot see peoples faces clearly after 3ft , i returnerd to work today only to have to go home because i am a charge nurse and hell i couldnt see anything. my husband had to take me to work this am because i could not see anything but starburst on every light and barely see the white line, according to my md i have 20/25 vision with both eyes on the chart, and he said i should be able to drive, well i dont see how i can drive if i cant read any signs clearly afeter three feet.....i am to the point of tears at the quality of my vision, god please tell me that this will get better and they have not royally screwed my eyes up.....
jturner29

Postby PatN » Thu Sep 07, 2006 7:18 pm

You had Lasek not Lasik. It will take a long time for the eyes to heal completely and from what I read from this website, your experience is consistent with Lasek.
PatN

Postby LasikExpert » Fri Sep 08, 2006 1:16 am

Refractive surgery is often more of a six month process than a 20-Minute Miracle. LASEK is seldom a 20-Minute anything.

The process of LASEK is to disrupt the epithelium (outermost layer of corneal cells) with an alcohol solution, move the disrupted cells out of the way, apply the laser treatment, and then slide the cells back over the treated area to act like a bandage, reduce discomfort, and to speed vision recovery.