Finally took the plunge

Research your concerns in this forum or post your questions if you have had Lasik, IntraLasik, PRK, LASEK, Epi-Lasik, RLE, or P-IOL within the past three months.

Finally took the plunge

Postby Greg Kamer » Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:58 pm

I have been considering Lasik for the past several years. But I have always sat on the fence, not sure if I was ready to take the plunge or not. However, after reading up on the latest technology, talking with co-workers who have had the procedure and reading up on the web, I finally decided to pull the trigger. I looked at a couple of places in Spokane Wa, and decided on Restore Vision. I read the doctors history and background, and selected Dr. Walker to do my procedure.

I decided since this was something I could not undo, I opted to spend a lot more and get the gold standard procedure, combining iLasik, which uses a laser instead of a blade to create the flap, and Wave Front for the actual corneal reformation.

I went to Spokane on Wed night 10/14/09 with Marie. We stayed in a hotel over night, and the next morning I went in for my Lasik. It was a pretty weird experience.....

I met with my doctor. He did a final examination of my eyes, and explained step by step what was going to happen, what I was going to see and hear. Then he gave me a Valium to calm my nerves and some drops to dilate my pupils and I waited for about 15 minutes for the pill to kick in. Then they brought me into the O.R.

After getting me set on the table, they placed some numbing drops in my eyes and told me to close them. A few minutes later after they positioned some equipment around my head, Dr Walker told me to open my left eye. Immediately I was looking into two rings of very bright lights. The Dr told me to focus in the middle of the smaller ring of lights.